UPU Ogun State to inaugurate new exco March 20


The Ogun State Chapter of Urhobo Progress Union (UPU) will inaugurate its new executive council on March 20, 2022, at Iyesi-Sango-Ota.

This was announced during the first meeting of the Chapter for the year 2022 that took place on Sunday, January 9 at Papalanto, near Ewekoro in Ewekoro Local Government Area of Ogun State.

Speaking at the meeting, the acting President, Chief Clement Takisu Obiogu,  Fiwajoye of Ota, emphasized that the non-ratification of the Executive Council impedes the Union. Obiogu said with the confirmation of the acting President and other Executive members, the Leadership of the Council will be prompted to work assiduously towards the aspiration of the Urhobo people living in Ogun. Chief Clement Obiogu further added that since the death of the former President, Dr. Oghenegueke Anuya, the Union has not been able to carry out its functions very well.

A prominent Urhobo leader from Sango-Ota volunteered to make a hotel available for the inauguration, even as the Women appealed for the inclusion of Women into the Executive Council. 

The UPU meeting was well-attended by prominent Urhobo people in Ogun state, including the Chairmen and Members of the six branches of  UPU, Ogun State, namely Abeokuta, Ilaro Owode-Idiroko, Ifo, Ilaro, and Sango-Ota. The Ijebu-Ode Branch sent an apology for their absence.

Personalities present are Chief Joseph Odia, former Head of Department, Administration, WAEC;  Dr. Solomon Anuta, Medical Director of Efe-Igho Eyes Clinic;

CSP Itobore, Mr. Sota Stephen, former Chairman Ota Branch;  and Mr. Tony Akpowonwon, a former senior official of Power Holding Limited.

Others are Mr. Efere David, Asst. Secretary, UPU Abeokuta; Mr. Oguarize of Dangote Cement Company, Mr. John Patrick Eki of Dangote Cement Company, Jaja Julius (UPU, Ilaro), Gabriel Igho (UPU Ilaro), Mr. Charles Francis, Mrs. Enakereya  (UPU, Sango-Otta) and Pa Ugeh of Sango Otta. Also present were Solomon Uwheru, Ifo-Ota; Mrs. A Obiogu, Chairlady, Sango-Ota; Mr. Sunday Edubi, Sango-Ota; Victor Akpobome, Otota UPU Abeokuta; and James Onafete, Ota, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here